jaBuT Backup has overall eight processing modes. These are listed and explained below:

Simple copy
If « Simple copy » is used, the source and destination directories are compared. The source data files will just be copied if they are newer than the target data or the target data are not available.
Obsolete data in the destination directory will not be deleted.

Exact copy
The mode « exact copy » compares like the mode « Simple copy » the source and destination directory. This mode copies data from source to destination directory only if the source files are newer or target data not present.
Obsolete data in the destination directory will be deleted [1].

Move
This mode compares the source and destination directory. Source data are only moved if they are newer or not present in the destination directory.

Exact move
Source and destination directory are compared. Source data are only moved if they are newer or not present in the destination directory.
Obsolete data in the destination directory will be deleted [1].

Compress

  • « Compressing » means to summarize data in an archive and to reduce the file size.
    This mode compresses all existing data in the source directory. The archive is stored in the destination directory [2].

Exact compress
This mode compresses all existing data in the source directory. The archive is stored in the destination directory [2].
Obsolete data in the destination directory will be deleted [1].

Synchronise
Synchronization means to syndicate data. Source and destination directory are matched exactly. Data will be transferred to the destination directory, if they are in the source directory but not in the destination directory. Also, data that is in the destination directory but not in the source directory will be transferred into the source directory.

Mirror copy
This mode copies all data from source to the destination directory. Newer files in the destination directory will be overwritten with the source files.
Obsolete data in the destination directory will be deleted [1].

[1] Files are moved by default to the Recycle Bin. This setting can be changed in the program settings.
[2] Archives can have the name of the source directory (default), the current date and time or a freely selectable name.